The Last Brunch

My boyfriend broke up with me yesterday. Brunch was a bit of a thing we did, so as a tribute to what was here is the recipe for the last brunch I made for us. Fortunately, it was one of the better ones.

Through a discussion with my housemate I came up with the idea of homemade challah with chicken liver pâté. When I told my mother she thought I was having a cultural revival. I wasn’t sure how the pâté would down with Mr Chicago so decided to make hummus as a back up plan.

I decided to give my bread bible one last try. Fortunately it redeemed itself completely. For once everything just worked. I didn’t knead the bread for the full 10 minutes recommended because I felt it was sufficiently elastic. I think this was an important decision given the final product. I opted to make two small loaves rather than just one large loaf. I intended to freeze one for later, but the bread didn’t last that long. We ended up with beautiful bread. The softest, tastiest bread I have ever made. And it worked perfectly with the chicken liver pâté and hummus.

The chicken liver pâté was made according to my mother’s recipe. I don’t think she’ll mind me sharing it. But I’ll never share the fishcakes recipe. That’s a family secret. It’s very simple. Slowly fry one large onion (although I actually used two medium onions) until they are soft and very brown. Then slowly fry 250 grams of chicken livers until cooked. Pop the onions and livers in a blender with lots of salt and some pepper and blitz until smooth.

The hummus recipe I made up myself. I used dried chickpeas, soaking them overnight and boiling them the next day. It’s little effort and much cheaper than buying cans. I used about half a packet of chickpeas. Once they were soft I blended them with two cloves of crushed garlic, two tablespoons of tahini, six tablespoons of olive oil, the juice of one lemon, a little salt, and enough cold water to loosen the mixture to the right consistency. It tasted great the day I made it and fantastic the next day. I may never buy hummus again!

So there you have it, the last brunch. A fine send off for what was a wonderful relationship.

20120303-212141.jpg

Leave a Reply

